Last Updated: PREVIEW

Weather: Sydney 12°C - 25°C . Wind increasing. Sunny.

MX Top row

mX

In print and on mobile, mX is cheeky, funny, witty and informative. mX strives to be different.

Print Edition

The printed edition of mX is available at train and bus stations and selected street locations throughout Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane between 2:30-7pm on weekdays. Well established as the only daily commuter newspaper in Australia, mX has attracted a loyal readership of 663,000^ people daily.


Tapping into a unique audience of young, time starved individuals who are increasingly difficult to reach using traditional media, mX provides advertisers with a captive audience. mX reaches consumers during that extremely rare time of day, on their afternoon commute home from work or study, when they are time rich and activity poor.


As early adopters and information leaders, mX feeds the readers’ insatiable appetite by giving them their daily fix of breaking news, pop culture, entertainment, sport & technology. The mX reader is primarily in the 18-39 year old demographic. They enjoy life and work hard to achieve their goals.


mX readers enjoy active social lives. Whether they are out visiting pubs, restaurants, at the cinema, shopping or travelling, mX readers are constantly on the lookout for new experiences and trends. They are also savvy when it comes to technology, in fact 80%* own a smart phone prompting the launch of the mX app in mid 2013.

 mX reaches over 1.1million^ readers per week Monday - Friday.

The mX App

The launch of the mX App means Australia’s favourite afternoon read is now available morning, noon and night.

Harnessing the quirky, irreverent, informative news, sport and entertainment that has made the paper such a phenomenal print success, the app means commuters can start the working day with a light hearted wrap-up of what’s been happening overnight, at home and around the world.

All the key News and Sport is covered as well as the world of Entertainment. Users can also have a laugh at the wild and whacky world of Weird and catch up on the best of the Talk section’s Overheard, Vent Your Spleen and Lost in Love while commuting and throughout the day.

With 92%* of mX readers active on social media websites, the mX app is designed with social engagement top of mind. Along with commenting and liking on all stories, photos, video and polls, sharing to Facebook, Twitter and other social networks is available throughout the app.

The mX app achieved over 90,000 downloads to date.

 

From the city to the suburbs

With its origins in the CBD’s of Australia’s three biggest cities, mX is not just about the city. The app has made content available nationally, 24 hours a day and the paper continues to be dispersed into the suburbs as it hits commuters on their way home from work or study.

82.9%* of Melbourne mX readers live outside the Inner City. 73.5%* of Sydney mX readers live outside central Sydney. At least 63.4%* of Brisbane mX readers live outside Brisbane city.

 

^Source: emma™ conducted by Ipsos MediaCT, 12 months ending December 2013.
*mX Reader Survey, hosted by YellowSquares (October, 2012).

Letter From the Editor

A stunning success. mX covers the issues that matter most in a concise, upbeat, funky, intelligent and sexy way.

From news, sport and business through to features focusing on health needs, entertainment, gossip, travel and the latest in IT, mX is designed for getting the most out of life.

Being distributed across the eastern seaboard in Brisbane, Sydney and Melbourne, mX is being picked up by an audience of highly influential and affluent young people.

Revolutionising the way we see newspapers, mX has the mix just right, proving itself as the clear leader in its field in both content and popularity.

We will not stand still. We will continue to bring readers more of the innovations that have become synonymous with mX. Make sure you are on board to enjoy the ride.

Got something to say? Why not send a letter to the editor?

 

Have your say

We welcome your comments!

Comments are submitted for possible publication on the condition that they may be edited. Please provide your full name and suburb/location.

Brisbane Readers: 
bristalk@mxnet.com.au

Melbourne Readers:
talk@mxnet.com.au

Sydney readers:
sydtalk@mxnet.com.au

 

MX Bottom Row Group

Competitions


mX - Samsung Jinja Safari - NSW only

 

Competition Winners

mx - A Spacetime Odyssey - VIC only

If you have any questions about any mX competitions please email promotions@mxnet.com.au

General Terms & Conditions


Wanna hand out mX

Wanna hand out mX

Register at staffing.com.au

 

MX Right Group

Reader Survey mX Click to see if you have won

Thank you for being a valued reader and taking the time to complete the mX survey, we appreciate your input. Click here to see if you have won awesome prizes thanks to outdoorsdomain.com.au and Icon Films.

For Terms and Conditions click here. . Authorised under NSW Permit No. LTPM/13/00257. VIC and QLD do not require permits for this promotion.

Download mX App Image

The 2012 trade video outlines how effective mX is as an advertising medium and how our readers' enjoy a 'pick me up' at the end of a hard working day.

video mx 300

Created in 2011 for mX Melbourne's 10th birthday showcasing how mX integrates into our readers’ lives.

Contact Us

Editorial & Advertising Contacts

General Enquiries
Phone: 02 9288 3000
SMS:     1999 4488
'Max SMS cost  .55c inc. GST.
Help? 1300 737 728
2 Holt St, Surry Hills NSW 2010
mX on Facebook  / mX on Twitter 

Advertising Enquiries
Phone: 02 9288 8480
 
News Tips

Please see respective state tabs above for state-related enquiries

Sydney Editorial

Tiahn Wetzler
Reporter 
02 9288 2828 wetzlert@mxnet.com.au

Vanessa Stubbs
Features Reporter
02 9288 2828 vanessa.stubbs@news.com.au

Cathy Morris
Reporter
02 9288 2822 cathy.morris@news.com.au

Chris Pavlich
Picture Editor
02 9288 2843 chris.pavlich@news.com.au

Sydney Advertising

Maurice Smarrelli
Head of Strategy & Business Development
03 9292 1686 maurice.smarrelli@news.com.au

Tammy Lim
NSW Advertising Manager
02 9288 2833 tammy.lim@news.com.au

Meryl Seno
Account Manager
02 9288 2807 meryl.seno@news.com.au
 
Belinda Guthrie
Account Manager
02 9288 2839 belinda.guthrie@news.com.au

Mark Brandon
Account Manager
02 9288 2837 mark.brandon@news.com.au

Matt Winch
Account Manager
02 9288 3845 matt.winch@news.com.au

Sonia Sahay
Account Coordinator
02 9288 2836 sonia.sahay@news.com.au

Sairus Hemraj - National Sales Admin Coordinator
02 9288 8480 sairus.hemraj@news.com.au

Publisher

Tamara Oppen
Publisher
02 9288 1479
tamara.oppen@news.com.au

TBA
EA to Publisher, mX

Editorial & Advertising Contacts

General Enquiries
Phone:  03 9292 1800
SMS:      1999 0010
'Max SMS cost .55c inc. GST.
Help? 1300 737 728'
PO Box 14745 Melbourne VIC 8001 
mX on Facebook / mX on Twitter 

News Tips

Editorial

Craig Herbert
Senior Editor
03 9292 2004 craig.herbert@news.com.au

Melanie Fenton
Assistant Editor
03 9292 1789 melanie.fenton@news.com.au

Jane Watkins
Juice/Goss & Glam Reporter
03 9292 1140 jane.watkins@news.com.au

Nadia Salemme
Chief Reporter
03 9292 1917 nadia.salemme@news.com.au

Lachlan Hastings
Reporter
03 9292 1803 lachlan.hastings@news.com.au

Andrea Beattie
CityBeat/ Music Editor
03 9292 1829 andrea.beattie@news.com.au

Antony Giummarra
Sports Editor
03 9292 1057 antony.giummarra@news.com.au

Lauren Wood
Sports Reporter
03 9292 1813 lauren.wood@news.com.au


Amber Ledsam

Features Editor
03 9292 1103 amber.ledsam@news.com.au or features1@news.com.au
   
Antonia Preston
Talk Editor
03 9292 2107 antonia.preston@news.com.au

Andrew Tauber
Picture Editor
andrew.tauber@news.com.au
 

Melbourne Advertising 

General Inquiries 03 9292 1828
Fax 03 9292 2770

Maurice Smarrelli
Head of Strategy & Business Development
03 9292 1686 maurice.smarrelli@news.com.au

Rose Koutsodontis
Advertising Manager
03 9292 1998 rose.kouts@news.com.au

Erin Rees
Account Manager
03 9292 1825 erin.rees@news.com.au

Deon Sortino
Account Manager
03 9292 1823 deon.sortino@news.com.au
 
Allira De Jager
Account Manager
Tina Fouyaxis
Account Manager
03 9292 2562 tina.fouyaxis@news.com.au
 
Catherine Elliott
Advertising Coordinator
03 9292 1828 catherine.elliott@news.com.au
 

Publisher

Tamara Oppen
Publisher
02 9288 1479
tamara.oppen@news.com.au

TBA
EA to Publisher, mX

Editorial & Advertising Contacts

General Enquiries

Phone:  1300 304 020
SMS 1992 0200
'Max SMS cost .55c inc. GST.
Help? 1300 737 728
GPO Box 130, Brisbane QLD 4001
mX on Facebook / mX on Twitter 

News Tips

Emma Chalmers
Editor
07 3666 6022 emma.chalmers@news.com.au

Jacinda Tutty
Reporter
07 3666 6826 jacinda.tutty@news.com.au

Charley Rico
Feature Reporter
07 3666 6057 charley.rico@news.com.au
 

Jeff Camden

Photographer 

07 3666 6893 jeff.camden@news.com.au

Rikki-Lee Arnold
SportsReporter
07 3666 6212  rikkilee.arnold@news.com.au

 
Brisbane Advertising

Maurice Smarrelli
Head of Strategy & Business Development
03 9292 1686 maurice.smarrelli@news.com.au
 
Lisa Harries
Advertising Manager
07 3666 6673 lisa.harries@news.com.au

TBC
Account Manager
07 3666 6672

Jem Salcedo
Advertising Coordinator
07 3666 6674 jem.salcedo@news.com.au

Publisher

Tamara Oppen
Publisher
02 9288 1479
tamara.oppen@news.com.au

TBA
EA to Publisher, mX